Day 28 of #100dayproject

Unexpectedly I was able to come home for 24 hours before going to my next assignment. It was nice to spend the night in my own bed – with my kitties!! Boy do I miss them when I am away dog sitting. At least I have comfort of mind knowing my mom is giving them lots of  love and great care – thanks Mom.

My dad is having surgery today so I was really glad I got to get home and give him a good luck hug and kiss before surgery.  He has spinal stenosis and is having a nerve stimulator implanted so its not a real big deal, but it is surgery and that is always scary.  So, good luck Dad!

Being home for a few hours gave me time to play in MY craftroom!  Woohoo!  I have been missing my mixed media, playing with color and layers and getting all painty and inky!  Its soooo much fun and gives me such a feeling of being free and happy.  My head is really hurting today, but it still felt good to sit at my desk and create something from nothing, something beautiful that I hope gives someone else as much joy as it gave me creating it!

I made a lovely bright yellow and orange gift tag.  I realized that’s two days in a row I was drawn to yellow and orange – I wonder what that means?  Any ideas?  Leave me a comment if you know anything about the meaning of colors.

I started with a piece of scrap I found on my desk.  I had used it to test some modeling paste.  The modeling paste was colored with some Distress Oxide Ink.  I had punched a butterfly out of the bottom of it so I decided to cut it down to a tag shape and went from there.

I colored it with more Distress Oxide Ink in yellow and orange.  I added a K & Company butterfly, Tim Holtz Chit Chat words, and a yellow eyelet.  I tied some coordinating fibers and added charms to the end of the twine bow (a feather and a swan to complete the flight theme).  I framed the sentiment with black pen and a Big Brush PITT pen.  I used the PITT pen to frame the tag too.

I stamped “To” and “From” on the back from the Stampin Up “Here’s to Cheers stamp set.  Now it’s all set to top of a very special gift!

I didn’t have a lot of time to spend creating today but it was still enough to create something beautiful that really makes me happy.  It was time that I was able to push my head pain back and have a few moments of freedom and joy.  This led to the sentiment “fly everyday” as a reminder to use my wings every day to be free and enjoy.

Thank you for stopping by and spending a few moments with me.  I hope you enjoyed your visit and that maybe I inspired you to create something of your own.  Please leave me a comment and let me know if I did inspire you and share what you create — I would love to see it.  Share my post with someone else that you think might be inspired.  Let me know if you have any questions about products, exact color names or procedures used today.

Now I am off to an assignment for a friend that is crafty (she made beautiful decorations for her son’s wedding) but she doesn’t have a craft room (so sad).  I plan to post the gift I made for Mothers Day on Sunday, but I have to bring other things I am able to do without a craft room that I can post for you on the other days.  So don’t forget to come back and see what I create.

Til next time, happy crafting ……..

Jeanette

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.