Day 12 of #100dayproject

Today’s project was a mixed media piece on some recycled cardboard (the back of a pad or some other packaging).  I started with some torn pieces of old music paper and I applied them with matte gel medium.  I then added some modeling past through an Anna Griffin stencil.  Yellow and red paint came next that I spritzed with water to help it blend and run.  Then I spritzed some red chalk spray through another stencil – it didn’t show up in the end though :o(.  I dripped some black mica ink spray across the top and spritzed it with water to help it run.  I stamped various images with black Archival ink.  I used a sponge to frame the piece with the black Archival ink.  Next came gold wax that I rubbed on to highlight the texture of the modeling paste.  I added white acrylic paint with various caps to make circles and the edge of a credit card to make the lines.  I splattered with watered down black & white acrylic paint.

The added pieces were fun.  I found a bag of red glass pieces and loved the way it matched so I dug out some thin gold wire to wrap around the glass pieces and they look fabulous!  I used two lovely pieces of chipboard from Maremi Small Art that I painted white.  I also had a white frame in my stash that fit perfectly and rubbed gold wax on it to highlight the texture.  I also found a old gold and yellow butterfly pin in my stash that coordinated nicely, all I had to do was clip off the pin backing and attach it with gel medium.  All my pieces were glued down with gel medium by the way.

I chose a moving quote from Helen Keller and printed it on white card stock.  I cut it out and matted it on black card stock and added the pieces with gel medium.  When dry, I used my Faber Castell Pitt pens to add red and orange color to coordinate with the page.

Here is a close-up showing some of the gold wax.  I love the sparkle from the wax and the mica ink I used.  It’s so hard to get it to show up in the photographs but I got a little to show here.

I hope you like my project today.  The sentiment has a lot of meaning for me as I have been struggling for years to move forward.  It really spoke to me and made me realize that “I” make the changes I want.  Very thought provoking for me.  What does it say to you?  Are you going through a journey?  How are you achieving your goals?  I would love to hear from you.  Do you use your art to help?  I am finding it very helpful. I know I have said it before, but I am also finding the #100day project to be so helpful in my journey, both personally and in my art.  I was always so indecisive in my work – always wondering what others would think of it, and now I am so much more confident in my choices and I just “do it”.  I just do what I like and don’t allow myself to wonder what others will think.  I am doing what makes me happy and in return it is giving me such confidence – and I am loving it!

Thank you so much for stopping by today and I hope to see you back again soon.  Please let me know if you have any questions about products or procedures I used today, I would be happy to provide any additional information you need.  If you have a moment, I would appreciate if you could like, comment or share my post.

Til next time, happy crafting!

Jeanette

ps: here is a picture of my Izzy helping me photograph my project today!  I am not sure she knows the meaning of helper?  Did you notice how many crafters are also cat lovers?  I love to see the cats walk across the screen on YouTube videos.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.