I Love Stampin’ Up!

Ok, so I have found something I am passionate enough about that I want to talk about it a share it so I am finally going to blog and make this work.  I have been enjoying paper crafting for at least 15 years but I have recently found Stampin’ Up and I love their products so much that I decided to become a demonstrator.  I haven’t even had my first party and I am already having so much fun.

I attended a “Shoe Box Swap” on Sunday and didn’t want it to end.  Thank you so much to Kristeen Gill for hosting and thank you to all of The Kilts for their wonderful projects.  For the swap, you make a project using items from the current catalog or the holiday catalog that is not available to the general public until September 1st,  then prepare kits for half of the members attending the swap and complete the project for the other half.  There were 14 of us at the swap so we received 7 completed projects and had 10 to 15 minutes to complete each of the other projects before passing the shoe box to the next member to work on.  It was so much fun and we got great ideas as well as great display pieces for our demonstrations.  And we got lots of tips and tricks from each other – that was a big bonus since I am self (and youtube) taught.  Thank you again Kilts for all of your hard work,  I especially appreciate it since I am just starting out!

I was overly ambitious since this was my first swap – I wanted to impress – so I made  what I call a Lighthearted Leaves Lantern using items from the Holiday Catalog — so you are getting a sneak peak at something from the Holiday Catalog that we as demonstrators got to see and order from before the general public.

IMG_0512IMG_0511IMG_0506

NOTE: ONLY USE BATTERY CANDLES.  NO LIVE FLAMES.

It  was inspired by Pootles Beehive Box – thank you Pootles.  I extended my center panel from 2 inches to 4 inches and I left my top points out where Pootles tucked them in — the choice is yours.  That is one of the great things about paper crafting – it is so easy to make it your own, to put your personal mark on it, and let me tell you it feels great!

I used the Leaflets Framelits Dies to cut out the windows.  Note, you have to fold up the bottom flaps when you do the diecutting so the piece will fit in your Big Shot machine (or whatever machine you have).  I used “Into The Woods” designer series paper to accent the old olive, rich razzleberry & soft suede cardstock bases.  I cut the vellum slightly short so it would fit easier (8 by 6 and 7/8).  I then stamped it randomly with the Lighthearted Leaves stamps with VersaMark and embossed with white embossing powder.  When cool I turned it over and randomly sponged rich razzleberry, daffodil delight, pumpkin pie, tip top taupe, watermelon wonder, and old olive — use whatever fall colors inspire you.  I started from the darkest color and worked to the lightest filling in all the gaps with the daffodil delight.  It seems really bold and too bright but when you turn it over – it looks really nice, then when you put the light behind it – WOW!!  And don’t forget — ONLY BATTERY CANDLES – NO LIVE FLAMES.

After scoring and folding, I pinched the points together and punched the holes with the crop-a-dile and made 3.16 inch holes all the way around.  I made a template so the holes would all line up nicely.  I wanted the quote on the maple leaf, and normally you would stamp first and then die cut but I found that this one was such a close fit, it was actually easier for me to die cut it first and then stamp it since I had the photopolymer stamps and you can see through them and they are easy to position.  But test it out and do whatever works for you.  I stamped it with the VersaMark and embossed it with the white embossing powder.  I added 3 medium sized Pearl Basic Jewels under the quote and attached the leaf to the lantern with dimensionals.  I  Added a few gold sequins for sparkle, inserted the battery candle, threaded 18  inches of rich razzleberry cotton ribbon and tied a bow!

Whew! Now THAT was a heck of a first project.  But I love it – and I am proud of it.  I hope you like it too.  Let me know what you think and please feel free to ask me any questions you may have,  I will be happy to answer and help in any way I can. and visit my Stampin’ up page here to order any of these products or if you would like to schedule a demonstration with me – just let me know!

2 thoughts on “I Love Stampin’ Up!

Leave a Reply

